The Journey of Grief – Erika McFarland

Grief is a multifaceted response to loss, particularly to the loss of someone or something that has died, to which a bond or affection was formed. Although conventionally focused on the emotional response to loss, it also has physical, cognitive, behavioral, social, and philosophical dimensions.

The Five Stages of Grief…

  1. Denial
  2. Bargaining
  3. Anger
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

Dealing With Grief…

Dealing with grief can be difficult, because it causes us to look at ourselves, furthermore, it causes us to acknowledge that there is something wrong with us. But, not dealing with grief can cause more damage than grief itself. Here are 3 steps to help a person deal with grief.

  1. Acknowledge what it is that you are feeling.
  2. Know that it’s ok to have that emotional response to the loss of someone that you care for.
  3. Replace your unhealthy responses to your emotions with a healthy response. For example: If when you become angry, you respond by lashing out at others. That would be considered to be an unhealthy response. But, if when you became angry you decided to respond to that emotion by writing in a journal, that would be considered a healthy response. You are still acknowledging your emotion and finding a way to express it, but by writing it in your journal you keep from hurting others and damaging relationships.

I hope this brief information has helped you. I will continue to blog about The Journey of Grief over the next few weeks. Join me next week as I break down the 5 stages of grief.

One thought on “The Journey of Grief – Erika McFarland”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *